Set Up Camera Upload (iOS)

Tip!: The Camera Upload feature requires an active Plex Pass subscription for the account signed in on the Plex Media Server to which you wish to upload.

Prerequisites

The Plex Media Server to which you wish to upload must be signed in with a Plex account that has an active Plex Pass subscription.

Tip!: For shared users (regular or Managed User), the server admin must enable the Allow Camera Upload sharing option.

Related Page: Plex Pass > What is Plex Pass?
Related Page: Plex Pass > Camera Upload

Sign In

If you haven't already done so, sign in to the iOS app using your Plex account.

Related Page: Settings

Set Up

To initially set up Camera Upload, first open the iOS app settings, then choose Camera Upload.

Tip!: If you have not configured the Camera Upload feature before you will be guided through a friendly setup-wizard the first time you set it up.

Choose Library

You can choose into which Library you want your photos added. Tap the Library setting to allow you to either choose an existing Library or create a new one by entering the desired name then tapping the + button.

Choose Album

You can choose into which Album of the Library you want your photos added. Tap the Album setting to allow you to either choose an existing Album or create a new one by entering the desired name then tapping the + button.

Enable Camera Upload

Once you've chosen the desired Library and Album, you can enable the Camera Upload feature using the toggle switch.

Changing Camera Upload Settings

You can choose to edit your Library or Album settings for your Camera Upload at any time. To do so, you first need to disable Camera Upload so that the settings are accessible.

You can then choose a different Library or Album to use. When you do so, uploads will continue from where you left off (existing photos and videos will remain where they are and only new photos will be uploaded to the new selected location)

Resetting Camera Upload

If you wish to start over with Camera Upload you can do so by resetting camera upload data. This will clear the your configuration and reset the your upload progress.

Tip!: You can access the Reset Camera Upload option from the Settings > Advanced menu.

Related Page: Settings

When Camera Roll Content is Uploaded

Once upload is initiated within the app, the Camera Upload feature will make use of the iOS background upload feature to continue that upload. This lets the OS control uploads when it has a connection available, there is sufficient battery, etc. Background uploading is controlled entirely by the OS.

Users can start an upload by simply opening Settings > Camera Upload in the app to make it active.