Restart Plex Media Server Setup from Scratch

In some cases, you may decide that you wish to restart your setup on your Plex Media Server from scratch.

Remove Libraries and Data

If you only wish to remove all of your Libraries and the data associated with them, you can do so, while retaining some saved server information such as your Plex account sign-in and server identity. To do so, you basically just remove the support files associated with the install and then restart the server. Please follow these steps:

  • Quit/exit/stop the Plex Media Server to ensure that it is not running
  • Delete the contents of the folder(s) for your operating system as noted below
  • Restart the Plex Media Server

The Plex Media Server will restart as a fresh install and you can proceed to set things up as you desire.

Warning: This procedure will remove your entire Library. You will have to re-scan, fetch metadata, and re-do any metadata edits. It does not remove actual media files.

Windows

On Windows, the content is located inside of the user directory.

%LOCALAPPDATA%\Plex Media Server\

OS X

Using the Finder's "Go" menu, select Go To Folder... then enter the following in the dialog box that pops up:

~/Library

From there, remove the following two locations:

~/Library/Application Support/Plex Media Server/
~/Library/Caches/PlexMediaServer/

Linux

In general, the folder for the various Linux versions of Plex Media Server will be found under:

$PLEX_HOME/Library/Application Support/Plex Media Server/

Remove All Data and Settings

If you wish to completely start over, that's also possible. This removes all the Plex Media Server data and settings so that you're starting over from the very beginning.

To do so, simply go through the uninstallation instructions. You can then install the Server again and go through the setup.

Related Page: Uninstall Plex Media Server