Which Plex Apps support Mobile Sync?
Currently, the following Plex apps support the premium Mobile Sync feature (or “Downloads”, as it’s known in some apps):
- Android (mobile)
- macOS (desktop)
- Windows (desktop)
Additional Plex apps may receive support in the future. Mobile Sync requires an active Plex Pass subscription on the source Plex Media Server.
Do I have to enable Remote Access to use Mobile Sync?
No. You don’t need to enable Remote Access for your Plex Media Server in order to use Mobile Sync.
However, you do need to sign into your Plex account on the Server. The plex.tv servers store the configuration details for Mobile Sync and effectively coordinates the process between your Plex Media Server and your Plex apps.
Related Page: Sign in to Your Plex Account
Can shared content be synced?
Yes. So long as the source Plex Media Server is signed in using a Plex account with an active Plex Pass subscription, shared users are able to sync content (even if those shared users don’t have a Plex Pass subscription themselves).
Can I sync different content to different devices?
Yes. Mobile Sync works on a per-device basis, so for each device on which you want data synced you simply select what to sync.
Is Mobile Sync content stored anywhere besides my device?
The transcoded content is stored on your Plex Media Server until it is synced to your device; at that point the transcoded version is removed from the Server and located only on your device. At no time is the transcoded content uploaded to the plex.tv servers or anywhere else. The original version of the content will continue to remain on your Server.
The Mobile Sync settings (regarding what to sync) are stored on the Plex servers.
Related Page: Where are sync transcodes stored on my computer?
How long will synced content be stored on the device after watching it?
This depends on your Mobile Sync settings for that content.
For example, if you have it set to only sync unwatched content, the item will stay on the device until it has been watched. It will be removed from the device when a new, unwatched item is available to replace it or when it marked as watched. If your sync setting is not based on watched status, then the item will stay on your device until you delete it.