There may be instances where you would prefer to see less activity from a friend—like that one who binge watches all the Star Wars films every day—or there is an account you want nothing to do with. Muting and blocking helps in these situations.
What’s the Difference?
When you mute someone, you’ll no longer see their Watched, Watchlisted, or Rated activities in your activity feed. You will continue to receive any messages they share with you. The person you muted can still see your activities in their feed and they won’t know they’ve been muted.
Blocking an account will unfriend them, prevent them from seeing the content on your profile, or searching for you. You will no longer see their activities, they won’t see your activities, and you can no longer share messages with each other. Access to any libraries you and the blocked account granted to each other will be removed.
Note: If you or the blocked account previously had access to a Plex Media Server library from the other person, access to that library will be removed as part of the block.
Initiating a Mute or Block
From either the profile of the account or from one of their activities you can mute or block an account.
You will see a confirmation for either action
When viewing a profile you can see if you have muted them
If an account has blocked you then you will see a message that you cannot friend the user.
Managing Muted and Blocked accounts.
From your profile’s friends list click the Manage button, and you will see all accounts you have muted and blocked where you can choose to unmute or unblock them.
Related Page: Profile
Frequently Asked Questions
- Can I block someone I am not friends with?
- That functionality is not currently available, but we plan to support this in a future release.
- Can I remove only some activity (Watched/Watchlisted/Rated) of a friend from the Activity Feed without muting them entirely?
- No. Muting cannot be done to individual activity types.