Editing Libraries

Libraries can be edited once created. You might want to change the Library name or include a new source folder, for instance. When editing a Library, you can change every setting except the type (Movie, TV Show, etc.).

After editing a Library, you may want to Update or Refresh All it to apply your changes.

Related Pages: Libraries > Update or Refresh a Library

Opening the Edit Window

From the Dashboard

When at the Dashboard, edit a Library as follows:

  • Find the Library to edit in the left sidebar
  • Click the Edit button
  • The Edit Library pane opens
  • Make the changes you want then click the Save Changes button

From within a Library

When inside a Library, you can edit it as follows:

  • Find the Library to edit in the sidebar and click it

  • The Library View opens
  • Open the dropdown at the right of the screen
  • Choose Edit Library, which opens the Edit window
  • Make the changes you want then click the Save Changes button

Edit Library Information

General

General information for your Library.

Name

Edit the name of the Library.

Language

The language to use for metadata gathered from the internet.

Each Library has a Primary Language that controls the information gathered from the Internet. If a Library's language is set to French, for example, the French plot summary, etc., will be downloaded when available.

Note: While you can change the language for a Library, you cannot retroactively update the language used for existing items. The new language will only apply to newly-added content.

Add folders

The folder or folders where you content is located.

Advanced

You can alter the advanced settings if desired.

Please refer to the Creating Libraries article for details on most advanced settings.

Related Page: Plex Media Server > Libraries > Creating Libraries

There is one special advanced setting that will be available for some Library types only when editing an existing Library.

Delete Preview Thumbnails

The Delete Preview Thumbnails button will allow you to delete all of the video preview thumbnails associated with this particular Library. So, for instance, if you decide that you don't want to keep your video preview thumbnails for your TV Library, you can delete those while still retaining them for your Movies Library.

Related Page: Video Preview Thumbnails

Delete Library

You can use the Delete Library button at the bottom to delete your Library. You'll receive a confirmation that you want to continue with the deletion.

Warning!: Be careful deleting a Library. If you do so and then add the Library again, you will have to fetch new metadata, perform new analysis on the files, etc.

Refreshing or Updating the Library

If you alter the content location, scanner, or metadata agent for a Library, you'll want to make sure you correctly update the library to apply the changes.

  • If you added or removed a content location — Update the Library
  • If you changed the Scanner or Agent — Refresh All the Library

Related Pages: Libraries > Update or Refresh a Library